It’s been a long road, but Google+ is finally about to kiss this world goodbye. The polarizing social network is losing its consumer version very soon, and now we’ve finally got specific dates. The consumer version of Google+ ends on April 2nd, 2019.
In a Google blog, Google said that,
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
While Google+ will live on for enterprise customers (more on that later), Google plans to shoo consumers off of its platform at an exceedingly brisk pace — no doubt motivated by the breaches. In Google’s own words, it’s shutting down G+ in April 2019 due to low usage and “challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations.”
The shutdown timeline is as follows:
- As early as February 4th, you will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities, or events.
- The Google+ feature for website comments will be removed by Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2nd.
- Google+ sign-in buttons will stop working in the coming weeks, but in some cases will be replaced by a Google sign-in button.
- Google+ Community owners and moderators who are downloading data from their Community will gain additional data for download starting early March 2019. That includes author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.
- On April 2nd, all Google+ accounts and pages will be shut down and Google will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in users’ Album Archive and Google+ pages will also be deleted. Photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
Finally, on April 2nd, the consumer version of Google+ will be shut down entirely. Unless you have a G Suite account, you’ll no longer be able to access Google+, and data will start being deleted. This includes all of your posts, pages, and photos and videos that aren’t already backed up to Google Photos.